Vail Valley Citizen of the Year deadline extended |

Vail Valley Citizen of the Year deadline extended

Vail Daily staff report
Vail, CO Colorado
2007 Citizen of the Year recipients Kathy, left, and Erik Borgen receive their award from Vail Valley Foundation President Ceil Folz.

VAIL – The deadline to nominate residents for the Vail Valley Foundation’s Citizen of the Year award has been extended until Friday.

“We want to ensure that anyone that has a desire to recognize a fellow citizen that they deem has made a significant impact on this community has ample time to complete the process,” said Ceil Folz, president of the Vail Valley Foundation. “Since this is an award that honors the person that has had the greatest impact on our lives this year, we want to be certain that everyone’s voice is heard.”

Nominations for the Vail Valley Citizen of the Year Award must come from full-time residents of Eagle County and may be submitted via fax or e-mail to the Vail Valley Foundation at 970-949-9265 or

The nomination criteria for the Vail Valley Citizen of the Year Award include four qualifications. The individual or individuals must have contributed their time and effort to support and enhance the community programs of the Vail Valley. They must have demonstrated leadership, good will, passion and a tremendous desire to improve the community. They must have significantly contributed to the heritage of the Vail Valley and its future. And finally, they must have been a resident of Eagle County for at least four years.

Nominations must include the name and address of the person nominating, the name and address of the nominee, no less than one paragraph and no more than one page describing why the nominee should be selected as Citizen of the Year and why the nominee stands above others in the community in their service and leadership. Nominations should also include efforts that the nominee has led or key roles played within the valley that benefits the entire community.

Following the close of the nomination process, the Vail Valley Foundation selection committee will make their decision with the winner announced by the beginning of October.

Past recipients of the Vail Valley Citizen of the Year Award include former President Gerald R. Ford (1996), Pepi Gramshammer (1997), Pete Seibert (1998), Dr. Richard Steadman (1999), Gilbert Giordano (2000), Judy Alexander (2001), Gerald Gallegos (2002), Howard and Cathy Stone (2003), Oscar Tang (2004), Diana Donovan (2005), R.A. “Chupa” Nelson (2006), Erik and Kathy Borgen (2007) and Dr. Jack Eck (2008).

For more information on the Vail Valley Foundation, call 970-949-1999 or visit

Support Local Journalism