Vail Valley citizen of year nominations sought |

Vail Valley citizen of year nominations sought

Vail Daily staff report
Vail, CO Colorado

VAIL, Colorado – The Vail Valley Foundation is soliciting nominations from the community for candidates for the nonprofit organization’s annual Vail Valley Citizen of the Year Award.

All nominations are due to the Foundation by Aug. 31 and the award will be presented at the annual Black Diamond Ball on Dec. 4 during the Birds of Prey World Cup Week festivities.

A combination of two previously existing awards, dating back to 1981, the Vail Citizen of the Year honors individuals that have truly made a difference in the community through their leadership and good will. Initially a responsibility of a committee comprised of Vail Valley Foundation board members, nominations were first opened to the community for the 2008 award.

“The Vail Valley Citizen of the Year Award is a very prestigious award, and it has been presented to a group of people that have truly had a profound impact on our community,” said foundation president Ceil Folz. “Since it is an award that was created to honor prominent citizens, we felt compelled to open up the nomination process to the citizens of our valley in an effort to let the Vail Valley put forth people that they feel had the greatest impact on their lives over the past year.”

Nominations for the Vail Valley Citizen of the Year Award must come from full time residents of Eagle County and may be submitted via fax or e-mail to the Vail Valley Foundation at 970-949-9265 or All nominations must be received by Aug. 31.

The nomination criteria for the Vail Valley Citizen of the Year Award include four qualifications. The individual or individuals must have contributed their time and effort to support and enhance the community programs of the Vail Valley. They must have demonstrated leadership, goodwill, passion and a tremendous desire to improve the community. They must have significantly contributed to the heritage of the Vail Valley and its future. And, finally, they must have been a resident of Eagle County for at least four years.

Nominations must include the name and address of the person nominating, the name and address of the nominee, no less than one paragraph and no more than one page describing why the nominee should be selected as Citizen of the Year and why the nominee stands above others in the community in their service and leadership. Nominations should also include efforts that the nominee has led or key roles played within the valley that benefits the entire community.

Following the close of the nomination process, the Vail Valley Foundation selection committee will make their decision with the winner announced by the beginning of October.

Past recipients of the Vail Valley Citizen of the Year Award include former President Gerald R. Ford (1996), Pepi Gramshammer (1997), Pete Seibert (1998), Dr. Richard Steadman (1999), Gilbert Giordano (2000), Judy Alexander (2001), Gerald Gallegos (2002), Howard and Cathy Stone (2003), Oscar Tang (2004), Diana Donovan (2005), R.A. “Chupa” Nelson (2006), Erik and Kathy Borgen (2007) and Dr. Jack Eck (2008).

The Vail Valley Citizen of the Year Award is a project of the Vail Valley Foundation. For more information on the Foundation, call (970) 949-1999 or visit

Support Local Journalism

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User