Vail Valley: Glass re-elected to energy board |

Vail Valley: Glass re-elected to energy board

Vail Daily staff report
Vail, CO Colorado

VAIL, Colorado – After an aggressive letter-writing campaign by supporters, Michael Glass of Edwards was re-elected to a seat on the Holy Cross Energy Board of Directors this week. David Munk soundly defeated Aspen-area director Robert Starodoj. About 3,500 people voted in mail-ballot election.

Voting ended Saturday, at the beginning of Holy Cross Energy’s annual meeting in Glenwood Springs. Results were announced Wednesday. Holy Cross Energy provides electric service to about 50,000 residents in an area that includes Pitkin and Garfield counties, most of Eagle County and part of Gunnison County. Its biggest customers are Vail Resorts and the Aspen Skiing Co.

Glass ran for re-election in a three-way race, facing Erik Lundquist of Gypsum and William Maxwell of Edwards. Glass was elected with 1,683 votes to Lundquist’s 1,179 and Maxwell’s 589.

“I really appreciate the public’s interest in the campaign,” Glass said. “I had good challengers, and I was glad to see everyone run a clean campaign.”

Munk defeated Starodoj 2,115 votes to 1,292. He ran a vigorous campaign for the board against the longtime board member. In a Vail Daily profile last month, Munk wrote:

“I am running for the board to bring a fresh perspective, proven ideas, and new energy to improve our cooperative. I will bring the lessons learned from successful utilities during my 15 years of utility industry experience to help our board and management model our programs and policies on the best practices available.”

Munk was supported vigorously by environmentalists as a pro-alternative energy candidate

Glass, branch president of Alpine Bank in Vail, campaigned on his financial expertise and his experience with Holy Cross. The board members will serve three-year terms that begin June 16.

Asked what the board might face over the next few years, Glass said he’s looking to keep Holy Cross largely on the path it’s on now.

“I think we’ve had good flexibility and balance,” Glass said. “We need to continue that.”

Voters also rejected a change to the utility’s bylaws. Board members are now elected the same way Eagle County Commissioners are, in that they represent a district but are elected by all Holy Cross members. The proposed change would have limited voting for board members to residents of specific districts.

That proposal was defeated 1,849 votes to 1,709.

Support Local Journalism