Vail Valley special districts to elect board members |

Vail Valley special districts to elect board members

EAGLE COUNTY, Colorado – Most year’s there’s a solid handful of special district elections in May. This year there are just three.

The Vail Recreation District will elect two board members this week. So will the Greater Eagle Fire Protection District. The Western Eagle County Ambulance District has three seats up for election.

Here’s a look at who’s running:

Vail Recreation District:

Incumbent Jeff Wiles is seeking another term on the five-person board. The other candidates are Stephen Connolly, Susan Bird, Ross Davis Jr. and Bill Suarez.

What it does: The district runs programs and manages Vail’s recreation facilities including the Vail Golf Club, Donovan Ice Arena, Ford Park and the Vail Gymnastics Center.

Recommended Stories For You

Greater Eagle Fire Protection District

Two seats on the board are up for election. There are three candidates: John Boyd, Alex Mintling and Johnnette Phillips.

What it does: This fire district covers the town of Eagle and the far eastern portion of the town of Gypsum – the area around Costco. The district also covers rural areas up the Brush Creek Valley and east to Wolcott.

Western Eagle County Ambulance District

The board has two seats with four-year terms up for election. Jessica Mossman and incumbents Brian Schofield and Jon Asper are running for those seats.

The district also has a seat with a two-year term up for election. Incumbent Arlene Sandberg and Matt Solomon are running for that seat.

What it does: The district covers the Interstate 70 corridor between Glenwood Canyon and Wolcott, the towns of Eagle and Gypsum, and rural areas in that part of the county.