Vail Valley: Water board election Tuesday |

Vail Valley: Water board election Tuesday

Matt Terrell
Vail, CO Colorado
Eagle River Water and Sanitation District

EAGLE COUNTY, Colorado ” The Eagle River Water and Sanitation District is holding an election Tuesday for four open spots on its board of directors. The board is charged with making major decisions concerning how water is treated, used and acquired in Eagle County.

Frederick Sackbauer is challenging incumbent Timm Paxson for a two year-seat in district three, which includes Matterhorn, Intermountain, Eagle-Vail north of Highway 6, most of downtown Avon and Mountain Star. You don’t have to live in district three to vote.

Incumbents David Viele in district two, Debbie Buckley in district four, and Robert Warner Jr. in district six are running uncontested, which means they’ll be reelected to four-year terms.

Among many powers, the district has the ability to construct and operate the facilities and lines needed for water and sewer service, the power to acquire water rights and to increase or decrease tap fees.

The board has been very involved in water rights issues, such as the recent legal settlement in which Denver Water gave up the rights to millions of gallons of water in local streams and rivers, including Gore Creek and the Upper Eagle River.

The district handles wastewater treatment for communities from East Vail to Wolcott. It provides water for Vail, and is the water provider for Eagle-Vail to Cordillera through an operating contract with Upper Eagle Regional Water Authority.

Look for an upcoming question and answer article with Sackbauer and Paxson.

To vote in this election, you must be registered to vote in general elections in the State of Colorado and:

A resident of the district for not less than 30 days; or the owner of taxable real or personal property situated within the boundaries of the district; or a person who is obligated to pay taxes under a contract to purchase taxable property in the district; or the spouse of someone who is the owner of taxable real or personal property within the boundaries of the district.

There are four polling places located as follows. Voters may vote at any polling place.

1. Town of Vail Town Offices (75 South Frontage Rd. Vail)

2. Town of Minturn Town Offices (302 Pine St. Minturn)

3. Eagle River Fire Protection District Avon Station (351 Benchmark Rd. Avon)

4. Eagle County Health Service District Offices (AKA Eagle County Ambulance District: 1065 Edwards Village Blvd. Edwards)

Polls are open Tuesday, May 6, 2008, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Source: Eagle River Water and Sanitation District

Support Local Journalism

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User