Where to cast your ballots, Vail Valley | VailDaily.com

Where to cast your ballots, Vail Valley

Daily Staff ReportVail, CO Colorado
Kristin Anderson/Vail DailyVail Golf Club maintenance employee Shaun Muldowney, left, watches as co-worker Jeff Weedon uses a backhoe to remove asphalt from a golf cart path Monday in Vail. The Vail Recreation District, which runs the golf course, holds an election for its board of directors Tuesday.

EAGLE COUNTY, Colorado Several agencies that are funded by taxpayers money will hold elections Monday. The town of Avon, Eagle-Vail Metropolitan District, Vail Recreation District, Eagle River Water and Sanitation District, Eagle River Fire Protection District, and Berry Creek Metropolitan District are all on the ballot. Below is a list of whats being voted on and where you can vote:

If Avon wants to sell or dispose of any town-owned buildings or property, voters have to approve it first. Town leaders want to change that. Avon will hold a special election Tuesday asking residents if they want to change the part of the town charter that requires voter approval before property or buildings are sold.The election takes place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at Avon Town Hall.

Seven Eagle-Vail residents are after two open seats on the Eagle-Vail Metropolitan District board of directors. The candidates are incumbent Bruce Mielke, incumbent Bob Finlay, Louise Funk, Charlie Penwill, Mike Matzko, Steve Kirchner and Bonnie Wood. The two candidates who receive the most votes will be elected.To vote in this election, head to the Eagle-Vail Pavilion between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. Tuesday.

Three candidates are running for two seats on the Vail Recreation Districts board of directors. The Vail Recreation District which extends slightly beyond the borders of the town of Vail is a special district thats separate from the town. It runs the Vail Golf Club, the Ford Park Tennis Center, the Dobson Ice Arena, the Gymnastics Center, intramural sports and childrens camps.The candidates are Ross Davis, incumbent Michelle Hall and Jeff Wiles. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday at the Vail Municipal Building at 75 South Frontage Road.

The district is holding an election Tuesday for four open spots on its board of directors. The board is charged with making major decisions concerning how water is treated, used and acquired in Eagle County. Frederick Sackbauer is challenging incumbent Timm Paxson for a two-year seat in District 3, which includes Matterhorn, Intermountain, Eagle-Vail north of U.S. Highway 6, most of downtown Avon and Mountain Star. You dont have to live in District 3 to vote.Sackbauer previously served on the board for 14 years and was chairman for 12 of those.There are four polling places located as follows. Voters may vote at any polling place: Town of Vail Town Offices (75 South Frontage Rd. Vail) Town of Minturn Town Offices (302 Pine St. Minturn) Eagle River Fire Protection District Avon Station (351 Benchmark Rd. Avon) Eagle County Health Service District Offices (AKA Eagle County Ambulance District: 1065 Edwards Village Blvd. Edwards)Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Two Eagle-Vail residents will vie for a seat on the Eagle River Fire Protection Districts board of directors in Tuesdays election. Kate Hawthorne and Clark Shivley are candidates for the seat from District 1, most of which is in Eagle-Vail.The Eagle River Fire Protection District provides fire and emergency service to 240 square miles stretching from Red Cliff to Wolcott. The district also includes Minturn, Eagle-Vail, Avon, Edwards, Beaver Creek, Bachelor Gulch and Cordillera.All electors within the entire fire district can vote for the District 1 seat.Hawthorne, an emergency medical technician, was an employee of the fire district from 2001 to 2007. Shivley, an operations and maintenance manager for Eagle County, was a volunteer firefighter with the Avon Fire Department for nearly 10 years. Voting takes place at Minturn Town Hall, the Avon fire station, the Eagle County Ambulance District station in Edwards and Eagle-Vail Pavilion.

George Gregory, John DeNardo and Heather Cook McInerny are competing for two four-year seats on the board. The two candidates with the most votes will win seats.C. Michael Budd is running uncontested for a two-year spot.The district is mainly in charge of maintaining parks and recreation facilities in the Singletree area, such as the Singletree Pavilion and Chip Ramsey Park.Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today at the Edward Ambulance District.Any registered voter who owns property in Singletree or lives in Singletree is eligible to vote in this election.

Support Local Journalism

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User

Trending - News

See more