Who to watch during the Colorado Classic | VailDaily.com

Who to watch during the Colorado Classic

Drop some knowledge on your fellow spectator

Daily staff report newsroom@vaildaily.com
Katie Hall, center, enters this year's Colorado Classic as the defending champion.
Daily file photo

The Colorado Classic starts today up in Steamboat Springs, and Stage 2 is in Avon with a climb up to Beaver Creek on Friday.

Yes, we know that Coloradans love a bike race because, well, it’s a built-in Friday Afternoon Club, which is actually happening on Friday — very convenient. Let’s face it, there’s always a guy dressed up in a chicken suit running with the leaders and that takes a bit of liquid courage.

However, it’s not necessary to be that guy the suit because you can drop knowledge on people as the best female racers in the world loop around Avon on Friday.

Here are some cyclists to watch as the Colorado Classic comes to town.

  • Katie Hall (USA) from the U.S. National Team: Hall is the 2018 Colorado Classic winner and 2018 Amgen Tour of California winner. In 2019, Hall has already placed second at the Amgen Tour of California and seventh at the Giro Rosa, the toughest women’s stage race featuring the best riders in the world.
  • Tiffany Cromwell (AUS) from Canyon/SRAM: Cromwell is a longtime UCI pro who has won stages at the prestigious Giro Rosa. Cromwell won the Belgium Classic: Omloop Het Nieuwsblad.
  • Amber Neben (USA) from Cogeas Mettler Look: Neben is a two-time world time trial champion, two-time national road race champion, three-time national time trial champion, two-time Pan-American time trial champion, and one-time team time trial world champion.
  • Omer Shapira (ISR) from Canyon/SRAM: Shapira is a two-time Israeli national road racing champion.
  • Tanja Erath (GER) from Canyon/SRAM:  Erath won the Zwift challenge in 2017 and was awarded a pro contract for 2018.
  • Tatiana Gudzero (ITA) from BePink: Gudzero was the 2009 road race world champion and the bronze medalist at the 2008 Summer Olympic Games in the road race. She was also second in the road race at the 2004 World Championships and third in the road race at the 2018 World Championships. She is a 2004 European time trial champion and an 8-time national champion in the time trial and track disciplines.
  • Chloe Dygert-Owen (USA) from Sho-Air Twenty20: One of America’s biggest rising stars, Chloe has already set various world records on the track, has five UCI Track Cycling World Championship titles, and pocketed a silver medal at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio. On the road, she won the junior road race and time trial at the 2015 UCI Road World Championships.
  • Jennifer Valente (USA) from Sho-Air Twenty20: As part of the successful American team pursuit squad, Valente has amassed numerous medals including three UCI Track Cycling World Championship titles, and a silver medal at the 2016 Olympic Games. As a junior racer, Valente has won 12 national titles, one world junior title, and three world championship medals.
  • Sara Poidevin (CAN) from Rally/UHC: Poidevin is the winner of the 2017 Colorado Classic.
  • Ayesha McGowan (USA) from ALP Cycles Racing: McGowan’s goal is to become the first African-American pro road cyclist.
  • Edwidge Pitel (FRA) from Cogeas Mettler Look: At 52, Pitel is the oldest woman in the Colorado Classic. She won the climber’s jersey at the 2018 Tour of the Gila and won the French National Roadrace Championships in 2016. Pitel was also the winner of the 2003 ITU Duathlon World Championships.
  • Krista Doebel-Hickok (USA) from Rally/UHC : Doebel-Hickok has turned in an impressive year so far, finishing fourth overall at the 2019 Tour of the Gila and top-10 in two Women’s UCI WorldTour races – seventh overall at the 2019 Amgen Tour of California and fourth at the 2019 Santos Women’s Tour Down Under to start the season.
  • Emma White (USA) from Rally/UHC: Cyclocross racer with a rising road and track career. In June, White became the youngest woman to win the U.S. Pro Women’s Criterium national champion title. At the 2018 U23 national championships, she won the stars-and-stripes jersey in the road race, criterium and time trial. As a junior, she won seven national champion jerseys and two silver world championship medals.
  • Allison Beveridge (CAN) from Rally/UHC:  Beveridge was part of the highly successful Canadian team pursuit track team. Beveridge has amassed numerous accolades including a bronze medal at the 2016 Rio Olympics, four medals at the track world championships, a gold medal at the 2015 Pan American Games in the team pursuit, six medals at the Pan American track championships, and a bronze medal at the 2015 Pan American Games in Toronto on the roads.
  • Anet Barrera (MEX) from Swapit/Agolico: Barrera is the 2019 Mexican national road race champion.
  • Brodie Chapman (AUS) from TIBCO-SVB: Chapman is the Australian national road race champion.

Colorado cyclists to watch include

  • Erica Clevenger (USA) from Sho-Air Twenty20
  • Abby Mickey (USA) from Rally/UHC
  • Liza Rachetto (USA) from Hagens-Berman/Supermint- Rachetto was born in Colorado
  • Heather Fischer (USA) from DNA Cycling
  • Hannah Snell (USA) from DNA Cycling
  • Melanie Beale (USA) from DNA Cycling
  • Amy Charity (USA) from DNA Cycling
  • Charlotte Backus (USA) from LUX/Flexential

Support Local Journalism