Letter: Thanks for sponsoring Special Olympics torch run | VailDaily.com

Letter: Thanks for sponsoring Special Olympics torch run

The 2021 Special Olympics Law Enforcement Torch Run occurred Aug. 14, and wouldn’t have been a success without the help of individuals and sponsors from our community. I would like to thank the following people for their time and support by participating in or sponsoring the 2021 Eagle County Special Olympics Law Enforcement Torch Run.

Avon Police Department: Officer Al Zepeda and code enforcement officers Rose Martinez and Josh Hernandez.

Colorado State Patrol: Troopers Nathan Turner, Jeffrey Briggs, and Eric Mestas.

Eagle Police Department: Officer Dominik Scriver.

Eagle River Fire Protection District: Battalion Chief Todd Marty, Jenny Hochtl, Jimmy Dalpes, Brian Koch, Brett Redden, Joel Fredrick, Miles Morris and Luke Goss

Participate in The Longevity Project

The Longevity Project is an annual campaign to help educate readers about what it takes to live a long, fulfilling life in our valley. This year Kevin shares his story of hope and celebration of life with his presentation Cracked, Not Broken as we explore the critical and relevant topic of mental health.

Eagle County Paramedic Services: Supervisor Jenny Thorn and Ryan Muir.

Eagle County Sheriff’s Office: Sheriff James van Beek, Amber Barrett, Sergeant Alex Iacovetto, Deputy Richard Sutton, Deputy Spencer O’Hara, Deputy Scott Peterson, Deputy Brandon Bernard, and Deputy Lisa Vasquez.

Vail Police Department: Officer Craig Westering.

The community members who joined us this year: Caleb Barrett, Keean Barrett, Karl Jolliff, Kendall Noble, Miles Stensrad, Benjamin Stensrad, Sara Haeffner, Karen Haeffner, and Mike McWilliam.

Our sponsors: Sundae, Marko’s Pizza, Mountain Recreation, Walmart, Dominoes (Avon), La Patrona Taqueria, and Classic Air Medical.

A special thank you goes out to Eagle County’s Special Olympics athletes and coaches that joined us for the run. I hope to meet many new participants from law enforcement and the community next year! Thank you.

Deputy Lisa Vasquez

Eagle County Sheriff’s Office

Support Local Journalism