Letters to the Editor | VailDaily.com

Letters to the Editor

Support clean car standards that protect our citizens, environment (letter)

June 22, 2018 — I was pleased to see Gov. Hickenlooper sign an executive order to begin the process of making Colorado the first interior state in the nation to adopt clean car standards. Thank you, Governor! As the federal government considers rolling back these standards at the national

Learn more »

Perhaps wildlife fencing disrupting migration patterns is to blame for decline in numbers (letter)

June 21, 2018 — From the dates mentioned in the Sunday article about missing wildlife ("Eagle County wildlife quickly decreasing," Sunday, June 17), it seems to me that this pretty much matches the dates that the wildlife fencing along Interstate 70 was built and completed. It is easy and

Learn more »

Rep. Tipton, demand the White House resume defending provisions of the Affordable Care Act (letter)

June 21, 2018 — Editor's note: Find a cited version of this letter at http://www.vaildaily.com. Rep. Tipton: More than 300,000 residents of the 3rd Congressional District suffer from pre-existing conditions, including nearly 40,000 minors. Donald Trump's Justice Department has imperiled health care for more than half of the non-elderly

Learn more »

2017-18 Open Lands Plan feedback: Vail Trail Extension is unnecessary (letter)

June 21, 2018 — Editor's note: Find a cited version of this letter at http://www.vaildaily.com. Town Council is beginning the review of the Open Lands Plan sent to it, after months of review by the Planning & Environmental Commission and public and is calling for at least two public

Learn more »

Support Mike Johnston for governor; you will not regret it (letter)

June 20, 2018 — Tuesday, June 26, is the day for Colorado citizens who will cast a ballot (or have already done so) for the state's future. Mike Johnston has the unique characteristics to become the next governor of this state on the Democratic ballot. I have known Mike

Learn more »

Don’t let a handful of voters make the decisions; vote in the primary by June 26 (letter)

June 19, 2018 — As of Saturday, June 16, only 10 percent of Colorado voters had submitted their ballots for the primary. If you are mailing said ballot, it needs to arrive by Tuesday, June 26, not just be postmarked. And it needs two stamps. If you are delivering

Learn more »

As a decorated veteran and a lawyer, I oppose the NFL national anthem rule (letter)

June 19, 2018 — I have been a lawyer in Colorado since 1973, and as a lawyer, I have always regarded the First Amendment as the cornerstone of our democracy. I am also a Vietnam veteran. I held the rank of staff sergeant but functioned as an infantry platoon

Learn more »

It could have been your child or grandchild; vote Tipton out of Congress (letter)

June 19, 2018 — Two young friends from the Front Range both have grandparents with homes in the Vail Valley — one in Beaver Creek and one in Cordillera. That gave these two boys and their families a place to stay every winter weekend when they came up to

Learn more »

Interesting that articles about wildfire, firearms were published same day as firearms started wildfires (letter)

June 19, 2018 — If any fire official was scratching their head looking for a way to reduce human-caused fires ("Federal officials expect 'active fire season' along Interstate 70," Saturday, June 9), they only had to read your article two pages later about sport shooting ("Why shotguns are like

Learn more »

Experience and dedication matter; vote for Mitsch Bush, Weiser (letter)

June 18, 2018 — Experience and dedication matter. And in this primary season, there are two candidates who stand out by their knowledge of the issues that are important to Eagle County voters and their commitment to representing us. Diane Mitsch Bush has ably represented us in the Colorado

Learn more »

Article on Bode Miller’s daughter drowning in poor taste (letter)

June 18, 2018 — That article on Bode Miller and his 19-month-old daughter drowning ("Bode Miller's 19-month-old daughter drowns in pool," http://www.vaildaily.com, Associated Press, Tuesday, June 12), stating that he used to get drunk before ski races — very bad taste, irritating to read. Give the guy a break;

Learn more »

Thanks for supporting King of the Mountain open volleyball tournament in Vail (letter)

June 18, 2018 — I just wanted to send out a huge thank-you to all of the businesses who have donated gift certificates toward the prize pool at this year's annual Vail King of the Mountain open volleyball tournament. Your support has been amazing and shows the participants that

Learn more »

Arbitration is not a ‘blow to workers’ rights,’ as Mitsch Bush claims (letter)

June 15, 2018 — To the editor: The title of this opinion column by Diane Mitsch Bush should read "Supreme Court decision a blow to trial lawyers and Democratic politicians" ("Supreme Court decision a blow to workers' rights," Saturday, June 9). The former will no longer enjoy the lucrative

Learn more »

Beyond Colorado governor, vote the whole ballot in the June 26 primary (letter)

June 15, 2018 — When voters fill out their ballots between now and Tuesday, June 26, they will have an opportunity to vote not only for governor, but also for a Congressional candidate and a number of other statewide offices. It turns out that in the last midterm election

Learn more »

Phil Weiser for attorney general for the state of Colorado (letter)

June 14, 2018 — The Colorado attorney general plays a significant role that impacts our day-to-day lives. Phil Weiser will protect Colorado from overreach by the Trump administration. Today, there are state attorneys general across the United States, from both parties, working together to protect citizens in their states

Learn more »

Negative propaganda against Victor Mitchell a disgusting turnoff (letter)

June 14, 2018 — Dear editor: The four Republican candidates for Colorado governor are all decent people. I have met all of them more than once. They are, alphabetically, Greg Lopez, Victor Mitchell, Doug Robinson and Walker Stapleton. Any one of them would make a great governor of Colorado.

Learn more »

Cyclists, share the road, particularly through gated communities (letter)

June 14, 2018 — I have been a road cyclist in the Vail Valley for about 20 years. We are incredibly lucky to have some the most beautiful and challenging cycling in the world right here in our backyard. As cyclists, we also need to respect non-riders and the

Learn more »

Local Backcountry Hunters & Anglers chapter hosts meet and greet June 14 (letter)

June 13, 2018 — Join Backcountry Hunters & Anglers Vail group Backcountry Hunters & Anglers was started by seven individuals sitting around a campfire in 2004, discussing the hunting and angling opportunities that were slowly being eroded by "our" Congressional representatives. Backcountry Hunters & Anglers currently has approximately 22,000

Learn more »

Politics must change; vote Mark Williams for Colorado’s 2nd Congressional District (letter)

June 11, 2018 — The political elites in this country are in this only for themselves and their big money backers. Does anyone doubt that insiders, lobbyists and the well-connected have rigged the political game? This is not even up for debate. I believe we have given status quo

Learn more »

Where will Vail Ski & Snowboard Academy graduates go next? (letter)

June 11, 2018 — Good article by Mr. Leonhart ("Children of winter," Saturday, June 2). I would love to see what schools these graduates will represent next year. I am sure there will be top ski schools we can follow. Thanks, Robert J. Graff Highland Beach, Florida

Learn more »