Battle Mountain XC wins at Rifle |

Battle Mountain XC wins at Rifle

Rifle Invitational


8. Alexis Aguirre, 18:40

15. Koby Simonton, 19:16

16. Sands Simonton, 19:16 (tenths)

18. Quintin Cook, 19:26

20. Dudley Ottley, 19:30


3. Christina Shearon, 21:00

6. Katie Matarese, 21:27

9. Morgan Croke, 21:44

12. Jenai. Denardo, 21:57

13. Lilly McMurrain, 22:03

RIFLE — There needs to be a better name than junior varsity.

Battle Mountain’s JV is really better than JV. After all, the so-called scrubs won the Rifle Invitational Thursday afternoon.

“We’re so proud of our whole team,” Huskies coach Rob Parish said. “It’s speaks volumes about the whole team and program. We’re resting a few varsity kids and we’re still racing with effort and pride.”

Battle Mountain’s traditional top-five runners for both the boys and the girls weren’t at Rifle, and the Huskies still took the whole thing.

Val Constien, Sydney Gaylord, Rychelle Denardo, Hannah Gaylord and Anabel Johnson are prepping for regionals a week from Friday. The same goes for Cameron Moore, Josh Braun, Ethan Pence, Ethan Cotton, Riccardo Arreola and Jake Borell. The question is “Who will be joining this bunch in Delta?”

Parish gave some clues.

“Christina Shearon had a fantastic day,” the coach said. “Another athlete who has done well all season is Meagn Rossman. She was our sixth runner today. Alexis (Aguirre), as a freshman, has exceeded expectations all season.”

Support Local Journalism

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User