Broncos’ Dumervil, Clady tabbed All-Pro, Dawkins second team |

Broncos’ Dumervil, Clady tabbed All-Pro, Dawkins second team

Lindsay H. Jones
The Denver Post
Denver Broncos tackle Ryan Clady eyes Oakland Raiders Nnamdi Asomugha during the first quarter of play Sunday December 20, 2009 at Invesco Field at Mile High. CYRUS MCCRIMMON/ THE DENVER POST

The postseason individual honors continue to pile up for the Broncos.

Outside linebacker Elvis Dumervil and left tackle Ryan Clady on Thursday were named to the Associated Press All-Pro first team, marking the fifth time in the past 20 years that the Broncos have had multiple make the exclusive team. Both players made the All Pro team for the first time.

Safety Brian Dawkins was a second-team All Pro.

Dumervil led the NFL with 17 sacks, including 11 sacks on third down. Clady, who made the team in only his second year in the NFL, has been regarded as one of the league’s premiere left tackles since early in his rookie season.

“I think I’m really thankful and honored to be recognized as one of the best at my

Broncos Premium

Fans, sign up now for Broncos Premium, our website offering don’t-miss news, analysis and features only available to registered users. It’s free!

* View images of former Broncos running backs coach Bobby Turner and former Denver offensive coordinator Rick Dennison.

* View images of Broncos defensive end Elvis Dumervil.

* Examine previews, matchups, schedule, scoring for postseason.

* Examine rosters, starters, stats, past results for the Pro Bowl.

* Find analysis and notes from the gridiron and locker room on the All Things Broncos blog.

* Ask Mike Klis about the team or NFL in the Broncos Mailbag.

* Evaluate the latest team numbers on the Broncos Stats Page.

* Post photos of your team spirit.

* Review Broncos 2009 schedule.

position,” Dumervil said Thursday. “I’m blessed. It shows that hard work pays off.”

The Broncos were one of seven teams with multiple players on the first team, along with Minnesota (RB Adrian Peterson, G Steve Hutchinson, DE Jared Allen and DT Kevin Williams), Indianapolis (QB Peyton Manning, TE Dallas Clark, DE Dwight Freeney), New Orleans (G Jahri Evans, S Darren Sharper), Dallas (DT Jay Ratliff, DE DeMarcus Ware) New York Jets (CB Darrelle Revis, C Nick Mangold), and Cleveland (T Joe Thomas, KR Josh Cribbs).

Read more:

Support Local Journalism

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User