Broncos’ Sharpe among Hall of Fame finalists |

Broncos’ Sharpe among Hall of Fame finalists

Jeff Legwold
Rocky Mountain News
Denver, CO Colorado

DENVER, Colorado ” Former Broncos tight end Shannon Sharpe was among 17 players and officials, including two senior nominees, to be named Tuesday afternoon as finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

If Sharpe is elected, he would be the first tight end to be named on the first ballot.

Five modern-day players will be elected, and the two senior nominees will be voted yes or no.

Also reaching the finals were wide receiver Cris Carter, center Dermontti Dawson, defensive end Richard Dent, guard Russ Grimm, defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy, guard Bob Kuechenberg, guard Randall McDaniel, defensive tackle John Randle, wide receiver Andre Reed, defensive end Bruce Smith, former commissioner Paul Tagliabue, linebacker Derrick Thomas, Buffalo Bills owner Ralph Wilson and cornerback Rod Woodson.

The senior nominees are wide receiver Bob Hayes and defensive end Claude Humphrey.

Former Broncos running back Terrell Davis was among the 25 semifinals but did not make the cut for the finals.

Support Local Journalism