Devils girls win Anna Banana Invite |

Devils girls win Anna Banana Invite

Eagle Valley's Brynn Mehan pulls away from her compeition during Saturday's Anna Banana Invitational in Fruita. The Devils ladies won the race, while the guys finished fourth.
Special to the Daily |

Anna Banana Invite


2. Carly Volkmer, 19:44

11. Desi Mendoza, 20:52

15. Shawna Adams, 21:08

17. Brynn Mehan, 21:18

27. Taylor Hermosillo, 21:52

34. Michaela Mitchell, 22:05

35. Tyler Beckum, 22:13


6. Gino Giovagnoli, 16:39

24. Michael Niemayer, 17:27

25. Brandon Sheard, 17:35

44. Riley Mehan, 18:09

47. Matt Jordan, 18:13

57. Harry Trotter, 18:47

62. Vladimir Carbajal, 19:03

FRUITA — It’s a long season for a cross-country runner.

The official season started Aug. 11, but most have been training all summer. The shine of the new season has worn off. Regionals are still three weeks away.

So what better way to lift a team’s spirits than by winning the Anna Banana Invite down in Fruita like the Eagle Valley girls team did on Saturday?

“We were really focusing on our league opponents, Palisade and Rifle,” Devils coach Melinda Brandt said. “Beating Palisade was a goal. To win the meet was icing on the cake.”

In addition to Palisade and Rifle, Eagle Valley took down all three of that area’s 5A squads as well — Grand Junction, Central and Fruita Monument.

Support Local Journalism

“We really enjoy the Anna Banana Invite,” Brandt said. “It’s fast, and those times are encouragement.”

All seven times for girls varsity were season-bests. Brynn Mehan and Taylor Hermosillo, in particular, picked up their standing within the team’s ranks. There’s also the fact that Eagle Valley had its varsity seven in the top 35 in a field of 80-plus racers.

With apologies to Lake Wobegon, all these children are, in fact, above average.

Setting Person Records

Personal records, or PRs, fell like crazy for the guys, who were fourth. Brandon Sheard, Matt Jordan, Riley Mehan and Harry Trotter picked up PRs. Again; this is a big boost mentally when the season is getting long.

The Hosses Award winners were Chantal Willoughby and Elvin Artega.

Eagle Valley’s next stop is its first trip to Englewood’s Windjammer Invitational.

Sports Editor Chris Freud can be reached at 970-748-2934, and @cfreud.

Support Local Journalism