Elway, Davis, Little top Broncos 50th anniversary team | VailDaily.com

Elway, Davis, Little top Broncos 50th anniversary team

DENVER, Colorado –The Broncos and their fans tabbed 22 players to the team’s all-time team, including some of the old, some of the new and some of the obvious.

For starters, John Elway beat out Tommy Maddox and others as the choice for quarterback. The Broncos will announce at halftime on Oct. 11, when Denver hosts the Patriots at Invesco Field.

The Broncos this season are celebrating their 50th anniversary. Fans were asked to vote for the team’s best players at each position.

The winners:


QB John Elway

RB Terrell Davis

RB Floyd Little

WR Ed McCaffrey

WR Rod Smith

TE Shannon Sharpe

OT Matt Lepsis

OT Gary Zimmerman

G Keith Bishop

G Mark Schlereth

C Tom Nalen


DE Simon Fletcher

DE Rich Jackson

DT Trevor Pryce

DT Rubin Carter

LB Karl Mecklenburg

LB Randy Gradishar

LB Tom Jackson

CB Champ Bailey

CB Louis Wright

S Steve Atwater

S Dennis Smith


K Jason Elam

P Tom Rouen

Ret Rick Upchurch

For more of this Denver Post story: http://www.denverpost.com/sports/ci_13343439

Support Local Journalism