Short track racing gets underway in Eagle; complete results |

Short track racing gets underway in Eagle; complete results

Riders take on a difficult climb at the Eagle Fairgrounds short track course during a night of mountain bike racing on Wednesday, April 24.
John LaConte |

65 people participated in the first event of the Vail Recreation District’s summer mountain biking town series on Wednesday, April 24, at the Eagle Fairgrounds.

Perfect weather greeted mountain bikers for the start of the local competition season in Eagle on Wednesday, April 24.
John LaConte |

The short-track race format employed on Wednesday allows riders to ease into the season and test their fitness levels, completing as many short, dirt loops as they can in 20 minutes. Two more short track races are on tap for this spring: On May 1 the series heads to Wolcott at 4 Eagle Ranch and on May 8 a short track race will take place on the Miller Ranch Open Space in Edwards.

The setting sun provided a nice backdrop for the Vail Recreation District’s evening races in Eagle on Wednesday, April 24.

The larger, eight-race mountain biking series will kick off on May 29 with the Eagle Ranch Classic.

Complete results from the April 24 races are below:

Boys 5-9
1 Levi Flach
2 Aksel Ulvestad
3 Lukas Methrin
4 Gio Napoli
5 Jackson Cox

Girls 5-9
1 Klara Mccorvey

Boys 10-14
1 Theo Krueger
2 Jakob Methrin
3 Tyee Aldrich
4 Zeke Willard
5 Freedom Bennett
6 Noah Flach
7 Wyatt Hooker
8 Enzo Napoli

Beginner Women
1 Stella Sanders-Kulesza
2 Julie Levan
3 Karen Sandoval
4 Reece May
5 Luisa Raynal
6 Evalynn Skiba
7 Elsa Smith
8 Iara Melgarejo

Beginner Men
1 Fernando Ocampo
2 Noah Davis
3 Theo Krueger
4 Salvatore Uliano

Sport Men
1 Truett Bennett
2 Scott Mccorvey
3 Wyatt Moehring
4 Robert Moehring
5 Sean Carver
6 Garret Moehring
7 Randy Tuggle
8 Timothy Conney
9 Ethan Elzinga
10 Ryan Huck
11 Andrew Lombardi
12 Dawes Wilson
13 Anthony Szuminski

Sport Women
1 Pavan Krueger
2 Nancy Mires
3 Julie Levan

Expert/Open Men
1 Christopher Baddick
2 Tyler Jones
3 Lucca Trapani
4 Ciro Zarate
5 Finn Remias
6 Tyler Eaton
7 Liam Clevenger
8 Adam Plummer
9 Robert Moehring
10 Lasse Konecny
11 Miles Gentry
12 Lewis Perna
13 Dan Findley
14 Ian Rogers
15 Brad Zoller
16 Mark Nesline
17 Douglas Jimenez

Expert/Open Women
1 Christa Ghent Baddick
2 Rebecca Howland
3 Tai-Lee Smith
4 Opal Koning
5 Elsa Bates
6 Pavan Krueger

Support Local Journalism