USA Pro Challenge announces 16 cycling teams |

USA Pro Challenge announces 16 cycling teams

DENVER — Taking place Aug. 18-24, the USA Pro Challenge will feature 16 of the world’s top professional cycling teams, the race’s organizers announced on Monday.

“We consistently get such an overwhelmingly positive response from the teams that participate in the Pro Challenge each year,” said Rick Schaden, owner of the USA Pro Challenge. “The race continues to build momentum year after year and we’ll look to build on that in 2014 by welcoming back some veteran teams and introducing some new ones to the challenging terrain and beautiful scenery of Colorado.”

Featuring teams hailing from six countries, the USA Pro Challenge will test riders by taking them to altitudes of more than 10,000 feet.


Support Local Journalism

“We’ve had huge success in the Pro Challenge the past three years and we’re looking forward to returning for a fourth,” said Jonathan Vaughters, CEO of Slipstream Sports and Team Garmin-Sharp. “As a Colorado-based team, this is a race we look forward to all year and the riders always bring their A-game. Last year, Lachlan Morton won the Best Young Rider competition and Tom Danielson got third overall, so we have high goals for the race and we will give fans plenty of reasons to cheer.”

Following is the complete list of teams that will be competing in the 2014 USA Pro Challenge:

UCI Pro Teams

BMC Racing Team (USA) @BMCProTeam

Cannondale Pro Cycling (ITA) @cannondalePro

Team Garmin-Sharp (USA) @Ride_Argyle

Tinkoff-Saxo (RUS) @tinkoff_saxo

Trek Factory Racing (USA) @TrekFactory

UCI Professional Continental Teams

Drapac Professional Cycling (AUS) @DrapacCycling

Team NetApp – Endura (GER) @NetAppEndura

Team Novo Nordisk (USA) @TeamNovoNordisk

UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team (USA) @UHCprocycling

UCI Continental Teams

Bissell Development Team (USA) @BissellDT

Hincapie Sportswear Development Team (USA) @HincapieDevo

Jamis-Hagens Berman p/b Sutter Home (USA) @TeamJamisHB

Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis (USA) @JellyBellyTeam

Optum Presented by Kelly Benefit Strategies (USA) @OPTUMpbKBS

Rapha Condor JLT (GBR) @raphacondorjlt

Team SmartStop (USA) @TeamSmartStop

Full team rosters will be announced closer to the race.

After a tough week of challenging racing over mountains at high altitudes, the 2013 race concluded with an exciting finish in Denver to the roar of cheering fans. This year’s race promises to be just as exciting with the first- (BMC) and second-place (Garmin-Sharp) teams from last year returning. Additionally the teams of last year’s jersey winners are confirmed to compete again — overall winner Tejay van Garderen’s BMC Racing Team; Sprint Jersey winner Peter Sagan’s team Cannondale Pro Cycling; King of the Mountains Jersey winner Matt Cooke’s team Jamis-Hagens Berman p/b Sutter Home; and Best Young Rider Jersey winner Lachlan David Morton’s team Garmin-Sharp.

The Pro Challenge is welcoming seven new teams for their first appearance in the race, including Trek Factory Racing, Drapac Professional Cycling, Team NetApp – Endura, Bissell Development Team, Hincapie Sportswear Development Team, Rapha Condor JLT and Team SmartStop. Additionally five veteran teams will be returning for a fourth time in 2014, having participated in every edition of the Pro Challenge — BMC Racing Team, Team Garmin-Sharp, Cannondale Pro Cycling (formerly Liquigas-Cannondale), Team Novo Nordisk (formerly Team Type 1) and UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team.

Support Local Journalism