USA Pro Challenge rosters announced |

USA Pro Challenge rosters announced

Daily staff report
This year's Tour de France winner, Christopher Froome, of Britain, will participate in this year's USA Pro Challenge in Colorado.
AP photo | AP

2013 USA Pro Challenge

Stage 1: Aug. 19 – Aspen/Snowmass circuit

Stage 2: Aug. 20 – Aspen/Snowmass to Breckenridge

Stage 3: Aug. 21 – Breckenridge to Steamboat Springs

Stage 4: Aug. 22 – Steamboat Springs to Beaver Creek

Stage 5: Aug. 23 – Vail time trial

Stage 6: Aug. 24 – Loveland to Fort Collins

Stage 7: Aug. 25 – Denver circuit

Denver — The provisionary team rosters for the 2013 USA Pro Challenge have been confirmed and are headlined by the No. 1 and 2 riders in the world — 2013 Tour de France champion Chris Froome, of Sky Procycling, and 2013 Tour de France Sprint Jersey winner Peter Sagan, of Cannondale Pro Cycling.

Coming off a remarkable victory at the most-storied professional cycling race in the world, Froome and his team will be racing in Colorado for the first time this year.

The USA Pro Challenge is Aug. 19-25 and will travel through eight official host cities on a scenic tour through the Colorado Rockies. Emphasizing the competitive level of the field, the race will include six current national champions — Fred Rodriguez (USA), Hayden Roulsten (New Zealand), Luis Enrique Lemus (Mexico), Michael Olsson (Sweden), Michael Schär (Switzerland) and Peter Sagan (Slovenia). Additionally, the race will host six former Olympic medalists and multiple riders who have captured a stage win at the Tour de France.

“The diverse field of cycling stars participating in the USA Pro Challenge presents an opportunity to celebrate the sport of cycling on a global scale,” said Rick Schaden, owner of the USA Pro Challenge. “As the race continues to grow, we are seeing increasing enthusiasm from both the fans and the riders, and these impressive rosters are a testament to that.”

The 2013 USA Pro Challenge will include five of the top-10 finishers from last year, including 2012 champion Christian Vande Velde and second-place finisher Tejay van Garderen. Also featured will be other riders from last year’s final podium, with KOM champion Jens Voigt and Best Young Rider Joe Dombrowski returning to defend their titles. Additionally, the current and former USPRO National Champions in road race will line up in Colorado (Rodriguez – 2013, Timmy Duggan – 2012).

The elite professional roster of teams, which includes 128 riders from 31 countries, is comprised of seven teams that competed in the Tour de France, four Pro Continental teams and five Continental teams. Following is the preliminary complete list of riders that will be competing in the 2013 USA Pro Challenge.

UCI ProTeams

BMC Racing Team (USA)

Tejay van Garderen (USA)

Stephen Cummings (GBR)

Mathias Frank (SUI)

Michael Schär (SUI)

Greg Van Avermaet (BEL)

Lawrence Warbasse (USA)

Julien Taramarcaz (SUI)

Brent Bookwalter (USA)

Cannondale Pro Cycling

Peter Sagan (SVK)

Damiano Caruso (ITA)

Alessandro de Marchi (ITA)

Edward King (USA)

Nariyuki Masuda (JPN)

Fabio Sabatini (ITA)

Juraj Sagan (SVK)

Davide Villella (ITA)

RadioShack Leopard Trek

Andy Schleck (LUX)

Ben King (USA)

George Bennett (NZL)

Tony Gallopin (FRA)

Andreas Klöden (GER)

Tiago Machado (POR)

Hayden Roulston (NZL)

Jens Voigt (GER)

Sky Procycling

Christopher Froome (GBR)

Richie Porte (AUS)

Joshua Edmonson (GBR)

Ian Boswell (USA)

Joseph Lloyd Dombrowski (USA)

Peter Kennaugh (GBR)

Danny Pate (USA)

Kanstantsin Siutsou (BLR)

Team Argos-Shimano

Patrick Gretsch (GER)

Thomas Damuseau (FRA)

Simon Geschke (GER)

Tann Huguet (FRA)

Tobias Ludvigsson (SWE)

Luka Mezgec (SLO)

Michael Olsson (SWE)

Nikodemus Holler (GER)

Team Garmin-Sharp

Christian Vande Velde (USA)

Thomas Danielson (USA)

Thomas Dekker (NED)

Rohan Dennis (AUS)

David Millar (GBR)

Lachlan David Morton (AUS)

Andrew Talansky (USA)

David Zabriskie (USA)

Team Saxo-Tinkoff

Michael Rogers (AUS)

Anders Lund (DEN)

Bruno Pires (POR)

Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN)

Jay McCarthy (AUS)

Rory Sutherland (AUS)

Timothy Duggan (USA)

Jesper Hansen (DEN)

Champion System Pro Cycling Team

Chad Beyer (USA)

Gang Xu (CHN)

Gregory Brenes Obando (CRC)

Chris Butler (USA)

Craig Lewis (USA)

Ryota Nishizono (JPN)

Chun Kai Feng (TPE)

Ying Hon Yeung (HKG)

UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team

Lucas Euser (USA)

Alessandro Bazzana (ITA)

Jonathan Clarke (AUS)

Benjamin Day (AUS)

Philip Deignan (IRL)

Christopher Jones (USA)

Jeffry Louder (USA)

Kiel Reijnen (USA)

Team Novo Nordisk

Fabio Calabria (AUS)

Javier Megias Leal (ESP)

David Lozano Riba (ESP)

Joonas Henttala (FIN)

Martijin Verschoor (NED)

Andrea Peron (ITA)

Kevin de Mesmaeker (BEL)

Christopher Williams (AUS)


Edwin Alcibiades Avila Vanegas (COL)

Julio Alexis Camacho Bernal (COL)

Robinson Eduardo Chalapud Gomez (COL)

Marco Corti (ITA)

Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (COL)

Jarlinson Pantano (COL)

Michael Rodriguez Galindo (COL)

Bissell Pro Cycling

Phil Gaimon (USA)

Jason McCartney (USA)

Jeremy Vennell (NZL)

Christopher Baldwin (USA)

Jonathan Patrick McCarty (USA)

Carter Jones (USA)

Michael Torckler (NZL)

Kirk Carlsen (USA)

Bontrager Cycling Team

Nathan Brown (USA)

Lawson Craddock (USA)

Antoine Duchesne (CAN)

Ryan Eastman (USA)

Connor O’Leary (USA)

James Oram (NZL)

Tanner Putt (USA)

Nathan Wilson (USA)

Optum Presented by Kelly Benefit Strategies

Alexander Candelario (USA)

Marsh Cooper (CAN)

Jesse Anthony (USA)

Michael Friedman (USA)

Tom Zirbel (USA)

Thomas Soladay (USA)

Ryan Anderson (CAN)

Ken Hanson (USA)

Jelly Belly p/b Kenda

Fred Rodriguez (USA)

Morgan Schmitt (USA)

Ian Burnett (USA)

Alex Hagman (USA)

Serghei Tvetcov (MDA)

Sean Mazich (USA)

Luis Lemus (MEX)

Nic Hamilton (CAN)

Jamis-Hagens Berman p/b Sutter Home

Janier Alexis Acevedo Calle (COL)

Juan José Haedo (ARG)

Matt Cooke (USA)

Tyler Wren (USA)

Carson Miller (USA)

Luis Romero Amaran (CUB)

James Driscoll (USA)

Ben Jacques-Maynes (USA)

Support Local Journalism