Five candidates will try for recreation district positions |

Five candidates will try for recreation district positions

Daily staff report

VAIL — Five candidates are seeking two seats on the Vail Recreation District board of directors. The election will be held May 3, and the winners will serve four-year terms.

The candidates in this year’s election are Stephen Connolly, Rodney Johnson, Roland Kjesbo, Brian Rodine and Bill Suarez.

Eligible electors include anyone registered to vote in the State of Colorado who also meets one of the following requirements:

• The voter is a resident of the district.

• The voter is the owner (or spouse or civil union partner of an owner) of taxable property situated within the boundaries of the district.

• A person who is obligated to pay taxes under a contract to purchase taxable property within the district shall be considered an owner of taxable property for the purpose of qualifying as an elector.

The election will be conducted as a polling place election. The polling place, located in the Grand View Room on the third floor of the Lionshead Welcome Center, 395 E. Lionshead Circle in Vail, will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on May 3.

Absentee voting requests are now being accepted. An application for absentee ballot can be downloaded through or may be requested at the district’s administration office, 700 S. Frontage Road E. in Vail. The final day to file an absentee ballot application is April 29.

For additional election information, call April Heredia, the designated election official, 970-479-2279. For information on registering as a Colorado voter, contact the Eagle County Clerk’s Office at 970-328-8710 or visit, the website for the Colorado Secretary of State’s office.

Support Local Journalism