Opinion | VailDaily.com

Opinion

McAbee: Living in the mountains means encouraging our kids to release their inner wild child (column)

November 13, 2018 — It might not have happened like I picture it happening, but as often is the case with conversations with my son, I have to fill in the gaps. Three middle-school cross-country runners, including my son Jack, thought they would go out for a run in

Learn more »

Our View: Vail Mountain doesn’t open early very often, so let’s enjoy the gift (editorial)

November 13, 2018 — The good news came first from the sky and then from the Vail Resorts corporate office in Broomfield. Thanks to generous early-season snowfall — a total of 52 inches so far — Vail Mountain is set to open early this season on Wednesday, Nov. 14.

Learn more »

Esprit de Corps matters, even after active service (letter)

November 12, 2018 — Good day: As a veteran myself, I can surely appreciate and respect the U.S. Marine Corps veteran taking his time to participate in the Veterans Day ceremony. However, for this occasion and certainly for a photo, perhaps he could have stood at attention rather than

Learn more »

Reyes: Celebrate family caregivers this November; appreciation event is Nov. 19 in Avon (column)

November 12, 2018 — November has been designated as National Family Caregivers Month, and Eagle Valley Senior Life and other elder-serving organizations in Eagle County would like to recognize and express appreciation to those individuals who provide care for elderly or disabled family members 24 hours a day, seven

Learn more »

Have a safe and sober ski season; leave the drinking for apres (letter)

November 12, 2018 — To all my fellow snowsport enthusiasts: It's snowing and Vail is opening early for the first time in a long time! The ski season is here, and skiing and everything that comes with it (adrenaline, therapy and physical fitness and more) is here. My reason

Learn more »

Did readers recognize the message of elitist bigotry in Noble’s column? (letter)

November 12, 2018 — Bigoted blathering can give one a frightful headache. Claire Noble's recent and seemingly endless "Collective delusions" commentary was very revealing (Thursday, Nov. 8). It's amazing how many words it took her to express what she could have summarized in one short paragraph (i.e., her obvious

Learn more »

Carnes: When it comes to democracy and keeping government in check, it’s all about balance (column)

November 12, 2018 — I am happy Republicans kept the Senate. I am happy Democrats took over the House. Balance is the key to democracy, and we toss the word "checks" in the mix as well, but they basically mean the same thing. It's our Constitution's way of playing

Learn more »

Mazzuca: Where do we find such men? (column)

November 11, 2018 — It was mid-December 1969, and four Marine helicopter crews waited in the med-evac shack next to the runway at Marble Mountain Air Facility. It was about 2 a.m. on a cold, rainy night when the call came from DaNang DASC that a Marine force-recon patrol

Learn more »

Norton: The spirit of Thanksgiving (column)

November 11, 2018 — With the Thanksgiving holiday only a couple of weeks away, it is probably time to start thinking about all of the people in our lives who we are so grateful for and who we appreciate so very much. And maybe we should start thinking about

Learn more »

District Attorney: Felony summons instead of arrest is better path to justice for nonviolent offenders (column)

November 10, 2018 — A car driver looks into his rearview mirror and sees flashing red lights on a police cruiser. The driver looks at his speedometer and sees that he is driving 20 mph over the speed limit and pulls over. The officer asks the driver to step

Learn more »

Matney: Being thankful 365 days a year can help heal a divided nation (column)

November 10, 2018 — Of all the holidays, secular and sacred, Thanksgiving Day is one of my favorites. It is an annual reminder that I have much for which to be thankful. The old hymn says, "Count your blessings; name them one by one. Count your many blessings; see

Learn more »

Our nation can no longer tolerate hate speech and must instead embrace inclusiveness (letter)

November 9, 2018 — On Friday, Nov. 2, the B'nai Vail congregation held a memorial service under the leadership of Rabbi Joel Newman for those who tragically lost their lives in Pittsburgh. I was invited to speak, and afterwards, the interdenominational attendees encouraged me to publish my comments from

Learn more »

Treat: Preserve Camp Hale, a sacred space for the 10th Mountain Division and Colorado ski industry (column)

November 9, 2018 — As one of the few remaining 10th Mountain Division veterans, I am writing to express my support for the Continental Divide Recreation, Wilderness and Camp Hale Legacy Act, currently being considered by our House and Senate. There are many possibilities for continued and future use

Learn more »

Wissot: The two Americas of Texas are analogous of the country as a whole (column)

November 9, 2018 — Texas true. Texas blue. Is that what Beto did to you? Those were supposed to be the opening lines to this column. I wrote them in anticipation of Beto O'Rourke's upset victory over Ted Cruz in the Texas Senate race. But a funny thing happened

Learn more »

Thank you to the community for supporting local district ballot measures in election (letter)

November 8, 2018 — I want to share a heartfelt thank you to our community after the recent elections: Thank you to all the candidates who took the time to run for public office and thank you to the volunteers who spent their time in support of candidates and

Learn more »

Mosier: New level of program performance, staffing and donor confidence at Vail Symposium (column)

November 8, 2018 — The Vail Symposium finished its summer season of programs with our program in partnership with the Vail Valley Partnership on The State of the Valley, featuring a group of local leaders, on Wednesday, Nov. 7. The Vail Symposium Board also recently completed our strategic plan

Learn more »

Noble: Collective delusion: Tell the people what they want to hear (column)

November 7, 2018 — Outbursts characterized by contortions and screams afflicted Betty Parris and Abigail Williams. Dr. William Griggs' diagnosis was easily believed and quickly acted upon — the girls were bewitched. Thus began a spasm of collective hysteria lasting approximately a year resulting in nearly 200 accusations, 19

Learn more »

Eagle County sheriff: Suicide breaking records in Eagle County; help is available (column)

November 7, 2018 — There is a silent yet deadly epidemic enveloping our beautiful community … its name is suicide. Eagle County is about to break its annual record of 14, having already reached that number with two months to go in the year and the critical holiday season

Learn more »

Johnson: Be a model of empathy for your kids, regardless of whether your candidate won or lost the election (column)

November 6, 2018 — No matter what happens with the election results, remember that our kids are listening and watching. They may not be able to vote yet, but how we model our opinions and passionate feelings about important issues is how our children learn to express their own

Learn more »

Our View: Please, folks, engage your brains when driving in winter conditions (editorial)

November 6, 2018 — We've had a good start to winter this fall, with Vail Mountain receiving just more than 3 feet of snow in the past week. That's encouraging. On the other hand, big storms, especially those early in the season, often bring big problems on the roads.

Learn more »