Opinion | VailDaily.com

Opinion

Norton: The most important step to success is step 1 (column)

April 22, 2018 — Have you ever had this incredible urge and surge to take on a big project or massive idea? You probably know what I mean, the kind of project that when we first think about it we get so excited that we just can't wait to

Learn more »

Cartier: The state of Colorado has grit (column)

April 22, 2018 — Spring has arrived, although some might debate whether we ever had a winter. Between high seasons, there is time to reflect on what's occurred and what's to come. Part of that evaluation includes a pat on the back for our successes, and the realization that

Learn more »

What’s the deal with the obnoxious Wildridge sign? Get rid of it (letter)

April 21, 2018 — What's the deal with the flashing, orange message board on Wildridge Road? I assume this is the town of Avon's doing. The sign, which is surrounded by orange highway cones, currently reads "Happy Sprinng" (sic). Is it really necessary to disturb the natural surroundings of

Learn more »

Van Ens: Poor get the short end of tax cut stick, while super-rich, corporations benefit most (column)

April 21, 2018 — Wall Street power brokers and Washington, D.C., tycoons sell a tax cut myth. They claim slashing tax rates for the rich will put more money in most Americans' pockets. Spinners of this myth about tax cuts spiking the American economy bank on citizens' historical amnesia

Learn more »

Tim McGuire would bring experience to Eagle-Vail Metro District board (letter)

April 20, 2018 — I am writing to express my support for Tim McGuire in the upcoming Eagle-Vail Metro District election. I met Tim in 2016 while he and his family were renting in Eagle-Vail, and then in October of that year, they became homeowners in the neighborhood. I

Learn more »

Jake Jacobson is honest, caring and reliable and right choice for Eagle-Vail (letter)

April 20, 2018 — To whom it may concern: I would like to comment on a candidate for the Eagle-Vail Metro District, Jake Jacobson. We first met Jake 30 years ago when we became duplex neighbors in Eagle-Vail on Deer Boulevard next to the pocket park. We raised our

Learn more »

Go big or go home: Close Interstate 70 from Copper Mountain to East Vail for wildlife (letter)

April 20, 2018 — Dear editor: Over the last few months, I've read many letters to the Daily from people saddened by the loss of native animal habitat, loss of their childhood's halcyon past, loss of hunting and fishing opportunities. Incidentally, or not, in his attempt to correct human

Learn more »

Stan Friedberg also oldest skier to helicopter ski with CADS (letter)

April 20, 2018 — Dear editor: I write to congratulate Stan Friedberg for his helicopter skiing accomplishment, which will probably set a Guinness Book world record. At 91, he became the oldest helicopter skier ever, eclipsing the prior holder's 88. The Vail Daily told the story on Saturday, April

Learn more »

This is International Dark Sky Week; turn off your lights and enjoy the night sky (letter)

April 20, 2018 — Pop references to the stars cross continents and cultures, filling humanity with a deep sense of universal wonder. Yet despite having the tools to counter its effects, light pollution continues to increase, depriving us of the amazing nighttime heavens above. Can we stop this tide

Learn more »

Is diversity for diversity’s sake a good goal for Eagle-Vail boards? (letter)

April 20, 2018 — In reading Pavan Krueger's Friday, April 13, letter ("Eagle-Vail's boards need diversity"), I was struck by the fact that she appears to see diversity as a value to be sought for its own sake. I think that more appropriate values for a board charged with

Learn more »

Wissot: Why I am not planning for the afterlife (column)

April 20, 2018 — I don't know what happens to us when we die and haven't devoted much time to the subject. I probably should because I'm in my 70s and will be finding out soon enough. It could be that I'm in denial about the looming end to

Learn more »

Tipton: Congress strengthens commitment to fight human trafficking (column)

April 19, 2018 — "Three western Colorado men arrested in FBI's sex trafficking operation." "Car accident leads to arrest for human trafficking." "Six local men arrested as part of national child sex sting operation." These headlines from our local papers describe some of the worst crimes imaginable happening in

Learn more »

Duff: Societal wounds still bleed from war, violence and hatred 50 years ago (column)

April 19, 2018 — Editor's note: Find a cited version of this column at http://www.vaildaily.com. My generation came of age in the late 1960s and '70s, at the apogee of that tumultuous time in history. As it relates to the turnings of history, VJ Day and the assassination of

Learn more »

Call to action: Vote for change in Eagle-Vail Metro District Board election (letter)

April 18, 2018 — Why, after so many critical, accusatory and incriminating letters, opinion pieces and questions at public meetings, has no one publicly stepped forward to offer a defense for the corrupt way Eagle-Vail has been governed and managed these past 10 years? Because they can't. This speaks

Learn more »

Metro District candidate: No need for housing in east end of Eagle-Vail (letter)

April 18, 2018 — Dear Eagle-Vail homeowners: The Eagle-Vail circus begins with a new mail-in Metro District election on May 8. I have served on the Metro Board from 2004 to 2012, owned in Eagle-Vail since 1998 and lived in Eagle County since 1969. A recent rumor says I

Learn more »

McCann for Eagle-Vail Metro District, to maintain and improve community (letter)

April 18, 2018 — For my Eagle-Vail friends and neighbors: My name is Ken McCann, and I'm running for a seat on the Eagle-Vail Metro District board. As an avid skier and mountain biker, I uprooted myself from suburban New York after visiting some family here in Colorado during

Learn more »

Eagle County Schools superintendent: Colorado ranks nearly last in education funding; how do we fix it? (column)

April 18, 2018 — I made my first attempt at teaching when I was in elementary school. I sat my siblings and anyone else I could find in front of a nice, clean wall in my house, which I proceeded to use as my chalkboard. Although my parents were

Learn more »

Front-page headline about woman in dumpster was crass (letter)

April 17, 2018 — I wanted to point fingers at all the people at the Vail Daily who thought it was a good or reasonable idea to shame someone on the front page for what was clearly a mental health issue ("Dumpster story 'fictitious,'" Friday, April 13). With so

Learn more »

Despite challenging snow year at Vail, mountain grooming was world class (letter)

April 17, 2018 — Just want to drop a quick note to thank the mountain groomers for the extra fine job they have done this winter. We may have not had the best snow year, but the groomers kept the front side of the mountain as good as grooming

Learn more »

Think of heritage and the future, oppose Golden Peak expansion plan (letter)

April 17, 2018 — Editor's note: Comments on the Golden Peak expansion proposal will be accepted through Monday, May 21, with Scott Fitzwilliams, White River National Forest supervisor, expected to make a decision about the project's fate later this fall. For more information, email project lead Max Forgensi at

Learn more »