Opinion | VailDaily.com

Opinion

Dylan Roberts has spirit to tackle Colorado’s health care issues (letter)

September 20, 2018 — Editor's note: Find a cited version of this letter at http://www.vaildaily.com. I am supporting Dylan Roberts for State Representative for Eagle County (https://leg.colorado.gov/legislators/dylan-roberts) because of his policies and positions on all the issues that are so very important to all Coloradans. Dylan Roberts has the

Learn more »

Goldberg: Feinstein’s handling of Kavanaugh accusation has made our politics even uglier (column)

September 20, 2018 — Editor's note: Find a cited version of this column at http://www.vaildaily.com. There are very few things I'm sure of in the latest, and worst, chapter in the Brett Kavanaugh confirmation saga. It's like a "Choose Your Own Adventure" book in which every chapter ends with

Learn more »

Why I volunteer as a mentor with the Vail Valley Foundation’s YouthPower365 (letter)

September 19, 2018 — Why I'm a mentor I know there are a lot of people out there who will read this and hear the call to do something more for their community. A lot of us want to give back, and so many of us do, but I'm

Learn more »

Ramirez: Why Testing Matters (column)

September 19, 2018 — I could ask ten people on the street what they think about standardized testing, and I imagine the majority of them would express some frustration with the amount of testing kids are subjected to, and/or the high stakes tied to test scores. As educators, we

Learn more »

Scatter ashes wherever, but don’t bring headstones into the wilderness (letter)

September 18, 2018 — It doesn't matter to me where you scatter or bury your loved one's ashes, but please don't start carrying headstones into the wilderness area. Sorry that someone went to all the trouble to place one on the Charles/Mystic lake area. Keep this area as pristine

Learn more »

Vote for Tamra Nottingham Underwood for Avon Town Council (letter)

September 18, 2018 — I am the President of the Canyon Run Condominium Association in Avon. (Disclaimer: The views expressed in this letter are my individual views and do not represent an official position of the Association.) I have known Tamra Nottingham Underwood, candidate for the Avon Town Council,

Learn more »

The future of our local wildlife is up to us; just say ‘no’ to paved access to Berlaimont (letter)

September 18, 2018 — Editor's note: Find a cited version of this letter at http://www.vaildaily.com. Picture it, the year is 2025: "What's an 'elk,' Mom?" The future is up to us. Will our grandchildren know the beauty of seeing an elk with her calf grazing in Eagle County, of

Learn more »

Our view: Restrictions may be lifted, but it’s still dry in the backcountry (editorial)

September 18, 2018 — After spending much of the summer in very tight Stage 2 fire restrictions, Eagle County officials on Friday, Sept. 7, dropped all local fire restrictions. That was, and is, good news. It's especially good news as we near hunting season, when hundreds of hunters take

Learn more »

Thomas: A history lesson on the Founding Fathers, courtesy of Brett Kavanaugh (column)

September 17, 2018 — Editor's note: Find a cited version of this column at http://www.vaildaily.com. They don't teach history, at least American history, like they did when I attended public school. That's why the recent hearings on Judge Brett Kavanaugh's nomination to become an associate justice on the U.S.

Learn more »

Carnes: Monochrome, Technicolor memories of a first fall season in Vail (column)

September 17, 2018 — I'll never forget the first Rocky Mountain fall color change I was lucky enough to witness. It was the last week of September, and Ronald Reagan was just about to win his second term with a true landslide victory over Walter Mondale. Taking 525 out

Learn more »

Norton: We live in an increasingly small world full of huge opportunities (column)

September 16, 2018 — As the internet and easily accessible travel options continue to make us feel like the world is getting smaller all the time, we have to remember that famous quote by Steven Wright, "It may be a small world, but I wouldn't want to paint it."

Learn more »

Mazzuca: A conservative perspective on the current state of our government (column)

September 16, 2018 — It's a reality that nations across the globe act in what they believe to be their own national interests in matters of trade, immigration defense, foreign relations, etc. And this modus operandi will remain until Earth's inhabitants reject tribalism as the planet's dominant culture. It's

Learn more »

Van Ens: NFL fumbles at taking a knee (column)

September 15, 2018 — Former San Francisco 49ers quarterback Colin Kaepernick stayed seated on a bench in 2016 during the "Star Spangled Banner." He used this body language to protest racial profiling and excessive, brutal police force against African-Americans. The mostly white NFL owners blew the whistle on remaining

Learn more »

Don’t be appeased by recreation access on Berlaimont project (letter)

September 14, 2018 — I'm a longtime resident of the Vail Valley and a Colorado native — and I am highly concerned about the out-of-control growth, unsustainable sprawl and lack of a long-term plan for our valley and state as to how we will tackle these issues in aggregate.

Learn more »

Qualman: Eagle County school district addressing youth mental health and suicide (column)

September 14, 2018 — It's National Suicide Prevention Week, and with school back in session, now is an important time to talk about a difficult but critical topic: youth suicide. The Healthy Kids Colorado 2017 survey revealed that nearly 1-in-4 Eagle County seventh- and eighth-graders seriously considered suicide —

Learn more »

Wissot: The ‘Good Old Days’ weren’t great for everyone (column)

September 14, 2018 — The prism of time changes everything. We remember the past with the false fondness we call nostalgia. But the political slogan "Make America Great Again" begs the question, which America? And which Americans are being addressed? I recall the America of the 1950s and 1960s,

Learn more »

An ordinary person can be extraordinary: Vote for Nicki Mills for state representative (letter)

September 13, 2018 — Former President Barack Obama once said, "A change is brought about because ordinary people do extraordinary things." Nicki Mills is an ordinary person, just like you and me, and someone capable of extraordinary things. She is not a career politician but, rather, a self-employed mother

Learn more »

Farm to Fork and Garden to Glass a success; thanks for making it possible (letter)

September 13, 2018 — We are excited to report that Farm to Fork and Garden to Glass raised more than $200,000 for local conservation. That's nearly twice as much as in 2017. Thanks to everyone who attended, our corporate partners and table sponsors for making it all possible. The

Learn more »

Valk: Yale poll shows nationwide support for revenue-neutral carbon tax (column)

September 13, 2018 — With the latest polling from Yale showing that 68 percent of U.S. adults support a revenue-neutral carbon tax, Congress has historic, nationwide support to act on climate. Early last month, the Yale Program on Climate Change Communication updated its Climate Opinion Maps with data that

Learn more »

Rankin: Colorado Department of Education has posted test results; how is your school doing? (column)

September 12, 2018 — School is underway, and a highlight of the August State Board of Education meeting was to review students' achievement measures from last year and to assess how teachers might move forward this year. Preliminary results from the 2018 assessments were revealed to the public in

Learn more »