Opinion | VailDaily.com

Opinion

Support Mike Johnston for governor; you will not regret it (letter)

June 20, 2018 — Tuesday, June 26, is the day for Colorado citizens who will cast a ballot (or have already done so) for the state's future. Mike Johnston has the unique characteristics to become the next governor of this state on the Democratic ballot. I have known Mike

Learn more »

Tipton: We must utilize Western Colorado’s vast natural resources (column)

June 20, 2018 — Western Colorado is home to vast natural resources that can and will power the economy through the 21st century and beyond if responsibly developed. It is the role of the federal government to monitor and manage the development of natural resources, which is why I

Learn more »

Eagle County Sheriff: Teach kids about stranger danger online, as well as in ‘real life’ (column)

June 20, 2018 — Editor's note: Find links to supporting resources with this column at http://www.vaildaily.com. Our cellphones have given us total freedom and expanded our world. Google allows us information on anything within seconds, we can order just about anything on the planet with Amazon and our appliances

Learn more »

Don’t let a handful of voters make the decisions; vote in the primary by June 26 (letter)

June 19, 2018 — As of Saturday, June 16, only 10 percent of Colorado voters had submitted their ballots for the primary. If you are mailing said ballot, it needs to arrive by Tuesday, June 26, not just be postmarked. And it needs two stamps. If you are delivering

Learn more »

As a decorated veteran and a lawyer, I oppose the NFL national anthem rule (letter)

June 19, 2018 — I have been a lawyer in Colorado since 1973, and as a lawyer, I have always regarded the First Amendment as the cornerstone of our democracy. I am also a Vietnam veteran. I held the rank of staff sergeant but functioned as an infantry platoon

Learn more »

It could have been your child or grandchild; vote Tipton out of Congress (letter)

June 19, 2018 — Two young friends from the Front Range both have grandparents with homes in the Vail Valley — one in Beaver Creek and one in Cordillera. That gave these two boys and their families a place to stay every winter weekend when they came up to

Learn more »

Interesting that articles about wildfire, firearms were published same day as firearms started wildfires (letter)

June 19, 2018 — If any fire official was scratching their head looking for a way to reduce human-caused fires ("Federal officials expect 'active fire season' along Interstate 70," Saturday, June 9), they only had to read your article two pages later about sport shooting ("Why shotguns are like

Learn more »

Our View: Reporting on suicide is tough; here’s what we’re doing (editorial)

June 19, 2018 — Reporting on suicide is one of the toughest jobs for a small-town newspaper. There's a real need to balance sensitivity to those who grieve with providing information to readers. There's also the danger that reporting on suicide — especially when a young person is involved

Learn more »

Article on Bode Miller’s daughter drowning in poor taste (letter)

June 18, 2018 — That article on Bode Miller and his 19-month-old daughter drowning ("Bode Miller's 19-month-old daughter drowns in pool," http://www.vaildaily.com, Associated Press, Tuesday, June 12), stating that he used to get drunk before ski races — very bad taste, irritating to read. Give the guy a break;

Learn more »

Thanks for supporting King of the Mountain open volleyball tournament in Vail (letter)

June 18, 2018 — I just wanted to send out a huge thank-you to all of the businesses who have donated gift certificates toward the prize pool at this year's annual Vail King of the Mountain open volleyball tournament. Your support has been amazing and shows the participants that

Learn more »

Experience and dedication matter; vote for Mitsch Bush, Weiser (letter)

June 18, 2018 — Experience and dedication matter. And in this primary season, there are two candidates who stand out by their knowledge of the issues that are important to Eagle County voters and their commitment to representing us. Diane Mitsch Bush has ably represented us in the Colorado

Learn more »

Van Ens: Separating what carries eternal validity compared to archaic social norms in the Bible (column)

June 16, 2018 — A top-ranking "father" of the Southern Baptist Convention advocated a paternalistic ideology at the center of his conservative Christian faith. Paige Patterson, former president of Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, has been fired because he advised women to stay in dysfunctional, degrading relationships to preserve marriages.

Learn more »

Beyond Colorado governor, vote the whole ballot in the June 26 primary (letter)

June 15, 2018 — When voters fill out their ballots between now and Tuesday, June 26, they will have an opportunity to vote not only for governor, but also for a Congressional candidate and a number of other statewide offices. It turns out that in the last midterm election

Learn more »

Arbitration is not a ‘blow to workers’ rights,’ as Mitsch Bush claims (letter)

June 15, 2018 — To the editor: The title of this opinion column by Diane Mitsch Bush should read "Supreme Court decision a blow to trial lawyers and Democratic politicians" ("Supreme Court decision a blow to workers' rights," Saturday, June 9). The former will no longer enjoy the lucrative

Learn more »

Phil Weiser for attorney general for the state of Colorado (letter)

June 14, 2018 — The Colorado attorney general plays a significant role that impacts our day-to-day lives. Phil Weiser will protect Colorado from overreach by the Trump administration. Today, there are state attorneys general across the United States, from both parties, working together to protect citizens in their states

Learn more »

Negative propaganda against Victor Mitchell a disgusting turnoff (letter)

June 14, 2018 — Dear editor: The four Republican candidates for Colorado governor are all decent people. I have met all of them more than once. They are, alphabetically, Greg Lopez, Victor Mitchell, Doug Robinson and Walker Stapleton. Any one of them would make a great governor of Colorado.

Learn more »

Cyclists, share the road, particularly through gated communities (letter)

June 14, 2018 — I have been a road cyclist in the Vail Valley for about 20 years. We are incredibly lucky to have some the most beautiful and challenging cycling in the world right here in our backyard. As cyclists, we also need to respect non-riders and the

Learn more »

Local Backcountry Hunters & Anglers chapter hosts meet and greet June 14 (letter)

June 13, 2018 — Join Backcountry Hunters & Anglers Vail group Backcountry Hunters & Anglers was started by seven individuals sitting around a campfire in 2004, discussing the hunting and angling opportunities that were slowly being eroded by "our" Congressional representatives. Backcountry Hunters & Anglers currently has approximately 22,000

Learn more »

Lopez: Lessons learned as Eagle County Schools interim superintendent leaves valley (column)

June 13, 2018 — There was a book published by author Robert Fulghum many years ago titled "All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten." The book was a compilation of essays pondering insights on life. The essays in the book included such topics as the value

Learn more »

Our View: Please, don’t be stupid with sparks or fire in our dry valley (editorial)

June 12, 2018 — This story has been corrected regarding the spelling of the Bocco fire. Let's start with this: It doesn't matter how long you've lived here or how much time you've spent in the backcountry. You're not the exception to the rule. Since Saturday, June 9, a

Learn more »