Opinion | VailDaily.com

Opinion

Curious Nature: Civil rights remind us that cooperation means survival (column)

January 19, 2019 — Civil rights are meant to protect everyone equally, but they’ve often had to be secured and defended rather than granted by society working cooperatively. Many animals and plants already show that cooperation can mean the difference between survival or demise. Perhaps we should follow their lead.

Learn more »

Van Ens: Debunking the great, white American myth (column)

January 19, 2019 — Flying Canadian geese form a wedge that is shaped like a giant "V." The lead goose breaks strong headwinds for following geese flying in formation. Geese have figured out it's easier to fly by sticking together. Conservative whites in the U.S. learn from geese flying

Learn more »

Letter: Stop wasting our money, Avon

January 18, 2019 — As an Avon resident and taxpayer who has twice helped protect the Town Council from financial folly, I am once again stunned at the town's complete lack of regard for fiscal responsibility in its continuing consideration of the Hahnewald barn. Before addressing the Town Council's

Learn more »

Letter: Don’t waste taxpayers’ money on barn

January 18, 2019 — As expected there are mixed reviews on how Avon should proceed in terms of its involvement and funding for the effort to save the Hanhnewald barn. This is an emotionally-charged issue and the "save the barn" advocates are using the deadline of June 1 to

Learn more »

Letter: Kudos to HPS staff, students, first responders

January 18, 2019 — On behalf of all the parents of Homestake Peak School, I want to take this opportunity to thank the HPS staff, students and first responders on their amazing job handling the bomb scare that occurred at the school last Friday. First the staff: Talk about an

Learn more »

Wissot: The intimacy that sex just can’t match (column)

January 18, 2019 — Can you imagine being with your partner and never enjoying sex with him or her ever again? If you are in your 20s, 30s, 40s, 50s or even 60s, you probably can't. I sure couldn't when I was passing through those decades. But I'm in

Learn more »

Trump’s border wall is a MacGuffin

January 17, 2019 — The border wall is now a MacGuffin, and that's the problem. A MacGuffin is a term of art in screenwriting. It's the thing the hero wants but the bad guys are trying to get, and therefore it drives the action of the story. In John

Learn more »

Letter: A more practical idea for Avon barn

January 17, 2019 — As an outside observer, I was fascinated to read John LaConte’s article describing the Avon Council’s reaction to moving and renovating the Hahnewald barn to the old Town Hall site. On one hand, it has historical and sentimental value having survived 100 years at its

Learn more »

Letter: Vail Health has some explaining to do

January 17, 2019 — Will Cook, the new CEO of Vail Health, said that he's learning about the hospital. One of the reasons he said that costs are so high is that the specialists don't see as many patients in a small market such as Eagle County as they

Learn more »

Letter: Stop the climate bullying

January 16, 2019 — Silence yourself! Shut up! Only we know what is true! Such is the demanding, intolerant language of today's climate gods angered by any hint of resistance to absolute acceptance of their theories, predictions, and proclamations. To the gods of human-driven climate change, I say this:

Learn more »

Robbins: Simplifying subpoenas, summonses and service (column)

January 16, 2019 — Subpoenas, summonses and service. Oh my! These are words with which we are likely all familiar, words that are kicked about as carelessly as pebbles. But, what, exactly do they mean? What is their legal significance? Let's start, first, with subpoenas, a word that, in

Learn more »

Van Beek: How to best prepare your children for a school lockdown (column)

January 16, 2019 — After hearing about the Parkland shooting, and while in a school lockdown, a sixth grader and his best friend suspected that they, too, might die at school, so each of the boys wrote a will. "Mom, I want to give my friend Javon everything that

Learn more »

With a carbon tax, politics is less taxing (letter)

January 15, 2019 — Seventy-five percent of years go by faster than average. That's technically true (thanks to leap years), but for the longest stretch, it felt, if anything, like an understatement to me. I would always reach December, and, in disbelief, gawk at the passing of another 12

Learn more »

A letter to the Eagle County Commissioners about Berlaimont (letter)

January 15, 2019 — I am writing regarding the Berlaimont Estates development and paved road that has been proposed for an inholding within our Forest Service land here in Eagle County. I would urge you to review the county's position and to use whatever means available to prevent this

Learn more »

All invited to 2019 Women’s March on Saturday (letter)

January 15, 2019 — On Saturday from 10 to 11 a.m., the Women's March will take place at the Vail Covered Bridge The 2017 Women's March inspired hundreds of women to run, millions more to vote and dozens to win elected office. The 2019 Women's March marks two years

Learn more »

Our View: Mountain Community Summit in Vail tackling a shared problem

January 15, 2019 — As you may have read Monday, Vail this week is hosting the Mountain Community Summit, a multiday get-together to talk about the challenges of — and possible solutions to — providing more workforce housing in mountain resorts. Vail was chosen as the host site in

Learn more »

Letter: A valley with real soul

January 14, 2019 — To all the community of this wonderful valley: It may be the New Year or maybe the new knee … or perhaps realizing that 2018-19 is my 50th year of skiing and my 40th year of teaching skiing, but whatever it is, I would like

Learn more »

Letter: Choose humanity over Trumpism

January 14, 2019 — There is a real contrast between the two letters in your Jan. 13 paper. Ms. Gauthier’s lays out, compellingly, the need to stop the shutdown. Her caring and humanity are apparent. The other, by Mr. Roeser, calls the justifiably angry Ms. Carr (Jan. 8 letter)

Learn more »

Curious Nature: In search of the missing lynx (column)

January 14, 2019 — The Canada lynx is protected under the Endangered Species Act, which makes encountering one in the wild an extremely unusual occurrence, especially here in Colorado. The lynx by nature tends to be a reclusive and shy animal, rarely venturing into populated areas. According to Colorado

Learn more »

Carnes: High crimes and nursery rhymes as shutdown rolls on (column)

January 14, 2019 — Humpty Trumpty sat on a wall Claiming it should be bigger, Because of his mouth The funding went south, Leaving all in fear of his hair trigger. Chuck and Nancy sat atop "The Hill" Holding the nation's purse strings, They're both falling down And looking

Learn more »