Dave Chapin re-appointed as Vail mayor, other council members sworn in | VailDaily.com

Dave Chapin re-appointed as Vail mayor, other council members sworn in

Dave Chapin

VAIL — Vail Town Clerk Patty McKenny on Tuesday, Nov. 21, administered the oath of office to three Vail Town Council members elected in the Tuesday, Nov. 7, municipal election.

Incumbents Jenn Bruno and Dave Chapin were sworn in, as was new council member Travis Coggin. Fellow incumbent Greg Moffet was absent for the meeting but had been sworn in before he left town.

After the swearing in, the six-member council — Coggin, Bruno and Chapin, along with Jen Mason, Kim Langmaid and Kevin Foley — unanimously voted to appoint Chapin to another two-year term as mayor and Bruno to another two-year term as mayor pro tem.

During the council’s evening meeting, another unanimous vote reappointed Buck Allen as the town’s municipal judge. Allen noted that at the end of his new term, he will have served as town judge for 40 years, adding that he’d like to hold the job for another six to 10 years before retiring.

That isn’t likely to be a problem, as the evening-meeting audience applauded Allen’s reappoinment to the judge’s job.

In thanking the council for another appointment to the job, Allen said serving as town judge has been an “honor and a pleasure,” adding, “I’m like that old couch in your living room — I’m not much to look at, but people are comfortable with me.”


Minturn prepares for de-annexation

August 23, 2019

With a key water deal denied, the Battle Mountain developer and the town of Minturn are planning to meet next week to discuss the future of the Bolts Lake property.

See more