New Colorado vehicle registration fees kick in
DENVER, Colorado – Drivers will have to pay more to register their cars and trucks.
State lawmakers passed a bill earlier this year to add surcharges to all vehicle registrations to raise about $250 million a year for highway and bridge repairs. The new law also imposes a $2 daily fee on car rentals.
The new registration fees that take effect Wednesday apply to all vehicles – from scooters to semitrailers. How much you pay depends on how much your vehicle weighs.
The fees are being phased in over three years. Owners of passenger cars and most sport utility vehicles will ultimately pay an extra $41 a year when they renew their registrations.
Support Local Journalism
Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.
User Legend: Moderator Trusted User
Due to budget shortfalls, Vail Resorts has pulled this winter’s funding for its cloud seeding program — the longest-running in the state at 44 years — potentially reducing the amount of water flowing down the…