Recent Stories | VailDaily.com

Recent Stories - Sports



Battle Mountain hockey tops Columbine, 6-4

February 19, 2020

VAIL —  Attaboy, Alex. Battle Mountain’s Alex Parliament, on a helper from Steven Dent with 6:35 left in the game, helped lift Huskies hockey to a 6-4 win over Columbine on Wednesday night at Vail’s...


Walsh wins World Cup GS; salutes Shiffrin family

February 19, 2020

Vail’s Thomas Walsh won Wednesday’s Para Alpine Skiing World Cup giant slalom in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia, and dedicated the victory to Jeff Shiffrin, who passed away earlier this month. Walsh, a cancer survivor, and Mikela Shiffrin...


Mikaela Shiffrin graces Sports Illustrated cover

February 19, 2020

Extra, extra, read all about it. Mikaela Shiffrin is on the cover of Sports Illustrated’s March issue and she’s dubbed, “the world’s most dominant athlete.” For readers of Sports Illustrated who do not live in...


Rifle nips Eagle Valley basketball in final minute

February 18, 2020

GYPSUM — That was a heartbreaker on Senior Night. Eagle Valley boys basketball hit a whopping 15 3-pointers on Tuesday night but dropped a 68-66 thriller to Rifle in Gypsum. What will sting is the...


Vail Christian beats North Park; eyes Slope crown

February 15, 2020

Merry Christmas, Vail Christian. We don’t know if this is a late holiday greeting or if this is 10 months early, but either way, it’s good news. Yes, the Vail Christian boys basketball team performed...


Eagle Valley wrestling sending eight to state

February 15, 2020

Eagle Valley wrestling enjoyed its visit to near-Kansas this weekend. The bus should be back in the next few days from Lamar, site of this weekend’s Class 3A Region 4 Tournament. And then the Devils...


Vail Christian basketball takes care of Paonia

February 14, 2020

Vail Christian boys basketball’s 70-37 win over Paonia on Friday night was 1 year and 9 seconds in the making. One year and 9 seconds later, Vail Christian can laugh about a little hometown tomfoolery...





Vail Valley basketball update: Saints, Huskies win

February 11, 2020

The Will Parker Noseguard Rivalry Nonexistent Trophy remains in good hands after Vail Christian boys basketball beat Hayden, 70-55, Tuesday night. Alec Moritz led the way with 19 points and seven assists. Watching the senior’s...





Battle Mountain basketball edges Summit

February 8, 2020

EDWARDS — Yes, that was just another laugher, an easy walk in the park, a no-drama win. Or not. Battle Mountain boys basketball escaped with a 63-62 victory on Saturday against Summit. In traditional Huskies...




Battle Mountain basketball tops Summit, 56-45

February 6, 2020

Battle Mountain boys basketball took care of Summit County, Part I. Will Summit, Part II, happen? Stay tuned. The Huskies knocked off Summit, 56-45, on Wednesday night. This one had all the earmarks of a...